Fees, wires, cash, interest and who is even allowed to open each one, read from Mercury's and Bluevine's own sites on September 18, 2026.
Disclosure: InvoiceBloom is a Mercury referral partner and earns a commission if you open and fund a Mercury account through our link. We earn nothing from Bluevine. Where Bluevine is the better fit, this page says so.
Quick answer
Bluevine if you want interest on your checking balance, take some cash, or are a sole proprietor; Mercury if you are an LLC or corporation that sends wires and never touches cash.
The question most comparison pages skip. Fees only matter once you can actually get in.
| Mercury | Bluevine | |
|---|---|---|
| Sole proprietors | No. Mercury needs a state-registered LLC, corporation or partnership with an EIN; a sole proprietorship has no formation document to verify. | Yes. US-based sole proprietorships can apply, with an SSN in place of an EIN. |
| Founders living outside the US | Yes, with a US-registered company, unless you live in a prohibited country (residence, not citizenship). | A US business address is required; international applicants can use a passport for ID. |
| Cash deposits | Not supported at all. | Yes: Green Dot retailers at $4.95 per deposit, or Allpoint+ ATMs at $1 plus 0.5% of the amount. Limits apply. |
| Feature | Mercury | Bluevine |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | None | None on Standard; $30 on Plus; $95 on Premier (higher APY, more sub-accounts) |
| Minimum balance | None | None |
| Sole proprietors | No. Mercury needs a state-registered LLC, corporation or partnership with an EIN; a sole proprietorship has no formation document to verify. | Yes. US-based sole proprietorships can apply, with an SSN in place of an EIN. |
| Founders living outside the US | Yes, with a US-registered company, unless you live in a prohibited country (residence, not citizenship). | A US business address is required; international applicants can use a passport for ID. |
| Cash deposits | Not supported at all. | Yes: Green Dot retailers at $4.95 per deposit, or Allpoint+ ATMs at $1 plus 0.5% of the amount. Limits apply. |
| Incoming wires | Free (USD) | Free (domestic) |
| Outgoing wires | Free for USD; 1% currency-conversion fee on non-USD international wires. | $15 domestic; $25 international in USD, plus 1.5% for foreign-currency payments. |
| ACH transfers | Free | Incoming and standard outgoing free; same-day ACH up to $10. |
| Interest | Mercury Treasury only (up to 3.89% yield, eligibility applies); no APY on the checking balance. | 1.3% APY on checking on Standard, if you spend $500 a month on the debit card or receive $2,500 a month in deposits; 1.75% on Plus and 3.0% on Premier with no activity requirement. |
| Sub-accounts | Multiple checking and savings accounts (count not stated). | 5 on Standard, 10 on Plus, 50 on Premier. |
| FDIC coverage (through partner banks) | Up to $5M through partner banks Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC. | Up to $3M through Coastal Community Bank, Member FDIC, and program banks. |
| Mobile check deposit | Yes, remote deposit from the dashboard. | Yes. |
| Invoicing and extras | Invoicing and bill pay included. | Not the focus; Bluevine's checking is paired with its line of credit (not available to sole proprietors). |
Mercury and Bluevine are financial technology companies, not banks; banking services are provided by their partner banks, Members FDIC. "Not stated" means we could not find it on the provider's site and will not guess. Terms change; confirm before you apply.
Bluevine does: 1.3% APY on the Standard plan when you spend $500 a month on the debit card or receive $2,500 a month in deposits, and 1.75% or 3.0% on the paid plans with no requirement. Mercury pays nothing on the checking balance; its yield comes only from Mercury Treasury, which has its own eligibility.
Mercury. Domestic USD wires are free in and out, and only non-USD international wires carry a 1% conversion fee. Bluevine takes domestic wires in free but charges $15 to send one, $25 to send internationally in USD, and 1.5% on top for foreign-currency payments.
Yes. Bluevine accepts US-based sole proprietorships, using a Social Security number where an EIN would otherwise be required. Mercury does not accept sole proprietorships at all. Note that Bluevine's line of credit is separate and not available to sole proprietors.
Bluevine. Cash goes in at Green Dot retailers for $4.95 per deposit or at Allpoint+ ATMs for $1 plus 0.5% of the amount, with limits. Mercury does not support cash deposits in any form.
No. Both are financial technology companies. Bluevine's banking services are provided by Coastal Community Bank, Member FDIC, with coverage up to $3M through program banks. Mercury's are provided by Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC, with coverage up to $5M through sweep networks.
Where will this payment land?
Mercury gives you a business account with no monthly fees, no minimums, and free USD wires (non-USD wires carry a fee) — so client payments land somewhere separate from your personal money.
Earn $125 when you deposit and maintain a balance of $5K for 30 days within your first 90 days. Terms apply.
Open a Mercury accountPartner link — InvoiceBloom earns a commission if you open and fund an account. Free for you either way. Mercury is a financial technology company, not a bank; banking services are provided by Mercury's partner banks, Members FDIC.
The business bank account finder asks five questions and tells you which of these you can actually open. Or read the full Mercury review and how to open a Mercury account.
Other comparisons: Mercury vs Relay, Mercury vs Novo.